Menu Close

About BAC

BAC Board/Chapter Chairs/Staff

The Baking Association of Canada (BAC) is Canadian national baking industry association governed by the members. Volunteers are elected from member companies and serve nationally on the Association’s Board of Directors and various Committees. Members also are elected to manage BAC’s provincial Chapters. Additionally, BAC has full time staff and office based in Mississauga, (Toronto) Ontario to manage the Association’s day to day affairs.


Chair Kevin Rainey Sobeys Inc.  Stellarton, NS
Acting Chair Tom Mattes Del’s Pastry Toronto, ON
Secretary Treasurer Louis Bontorin Calgary Italian Bakery Calgary, AB
Past Chair Glenn Wilde Harvest Bakery Winnipeg, MB
President & CEO Paul Hetherington Baking Association of Canada Mississauga, ON
Directors Martin Barnett Vancouver Island University Nanaimo, BC
Dominique Bohec Conseil de la Boulangerie du Quebec Granby, QC
Blair Hyslop Mrs. Dunster’s Sussex, NB
Denise Eddy Coleman Foods St. John’s, NL
Michel Dion Lallemand Montreal, QC
Arthur Gunn Gunn’s Bakery Winnipeg, MB
Greg Jenkins Weston Bakeries Ltd/Ready Bake Foods Inc. Toronto, ON
Christian Mitzel Qzina Specialty Foods Vancouver, BC
Dan Peroff Olympic Wholesale Co. Ltd. Ajax, ON
Michael Rinella Rich Products of Canada, Ltd. Woodbridge, ON
Teresa Schoonings Canada Bread Etobicoke, ON

BAC Chapter Chairs

British Columbia Jesse Lamb Vancouver, BC
Alberta Pete Plaizier The Good Oven Edmonton, AB
Ontario Dan Peroff Olympic Wholesale Co. Ltd Ajax, ON
Quebec Dimitri Fraeys Conseil de la Boulangerie du Quebec Granby, QC
Atlantic Canada Dave Bryson P & H Milling Halifax, NS

BAC Staff

Paul Hetherington President & CEO
Ahmed Mutaher Director, Business Development – Events & Exhibitions
Gillian Blakey Member & Events Administrator
Janice Fendley Trade Show Manager
Johanne Trudeau Director, Food and Nutrition Policy
To contact BAC staff please email